MI Final Blog Journal: Connections & Intersections

June 7, 2008

I see the value of this course as one that provides a stepping stone for us media students to gain an insider’s look into the industry that we are intending to infiltrate in the near future. The goals and outcomes of understanding this area of the media industry on a deeper level should assist me in getting a foot in the door and paving the way for a prospective future and career in this business.

I have learnt a lot about the inner workings of this industry and the importance of understanding group dynamics, especially because one is never fully in control of choosing who one has to team up with in the working world. I have also realised that I have good problem solving skills and am able to adapt well to situations that I have been put into. I am able to analyse problems calmly and assess the best possible solutions for the bigger picture.

It’s always important to maintain good relations with the people you are working with. Having a generally positive attitude usually goes a long way, because you never know when you’ll be needing the help of others, it’s always better to have an open door than a closed one. Though it is essential for one to possess self-control and not offend anybody, I have also learnt that I personally can be more aggressive in expressing my opinions and suggesting alternative solutions to any problems at hand.

In the process of seeking out responses from industry professionals, I have learnt that it never hurts to try. One can never be too shy about asking questions and seeking answers in this industry. The worst that could happen would be an absence of reply, but when responses actually do get sent back by people who have taken time out of their day to address your queries, the feeling is encouraging and it fuels motivation to pursue future endeavours. The research I have undertaken during the course of this project has allowed me to understand this industry on a deeper level and better appreciate the driving forces at the root of this machine.

Grade: HD

Leave a comment